IPL 2017

The Much Awaited IPL 2017 The dates, auction, matches, and teams of IPL 2017 are..

Read more

IPL 2017

The Much Awaited IPL 2017

The dates, auction, matches, and teams of IPL 2017 are all in motion for the Indian Cricket Tournament of the year

Being one of the world’s biggest and much-awaited cricket tournaments, the IPL 2017 is going to be a blast! The 2017 series of IPL matches are going to be the tenth season of the tournament. IPL is the abbreviated form of Indian Premier League, where players and franchise teams are made to represent the different cities of India. In 2007, the league was made by Board of Control for Cricket in India.IPL 20171

Cricket is a game that is loved by a lot of people around the world, and people in South Asia crave for a good game of cricket, which is why they look forward to tournaments such as the IPL.

The Teams

The number of teams and the cities/names that were represented in 2016 will be carried forward in the year 2017. The champions of 2016 were Sunrisers Hyderabad, and only time will tell who will be the winners of the series in 2016. Currently, eight different teams will be playing against each other in 2017, these teams include:

  1. Kolkata Knight Riders
  2. Delhi Daredevils
  3. Mumbai Indians
  4. Rising Pune Supergiants
  5. Kings XI Punjab
  6. Gujarat Lions
  7. Royal Challengers Bangalore
  8. Sunrisers Hyderabad

The two teams that have been suspended from the league include:

  1. Chennai Super Kings
  2. Rajasthan Royals

The match date

The tournament is said to start on April 5th of 2017 where the opening match will be played in Hyderabad, whereas, the final game will be held on 21st May 2017 which will also take place in the same city as Hyderabad will be the host of IPL 2017. The reason for this is the fact that as per the rules of the leagues the city that had won previously gets to host the tournament next year.

The above-mentioned dates are currently proposed by the league and are yet to be confirmed by the officials of the Lodha committee. Once these dates have been confirmed, the matches are said to start right after the series of test matches between India and Australia; these are planned to finish on 29th March 2017.

Ten days after the tournament, the Indian team will be playing in the ICC Champions Trophy, scheduled to start on 1st June 2017. Even though the Lodha committee is for ending IPL 15 days before the start of ICC, it has been said that the arrangement is impossible.

The matches

The beginning match of the 2017 IPL will be played against the Delhi Daredevils and the Kolkata Knight Riders which will be hosted by the famous Eden Gardens. Eden Gardens is known for his hosting skills and is one of the best hosts of cricket. A total of 72 matches will be played during the entire tournament; though the timings of the matches may vary they are scheduled to start between 4 o’clock or 8 o’clock.

The breakup of the matches is as follows: the first qualifier round followed by the second qualifier round and the eliminator round which will then lead to the final match. On May 21st and 22nd, the first qualifier and the eliminator matches will be held, and these matches will be held in Chennai. The second qualifier matches will be held on 24th May which will take place in Kolkata


As the fans of the tournament must already know, there are awards presented to the best players and teams at the end of the league. These awards are highly prestigious, and it is a great honor for players to be presented with these awards. Some of the awards that are highlighted at the end are Orange Cap, Maximum Sixes, Purple Cap and Fair Play Award.

For IPL live score Visit https://cricfrog.com/live-today-cricket-match-score-ball-by-ball/

The auction and the released players

The auction of players for IPL 2017 will be opened on 8th February 2017. On this dates, every person including the coaches, the owners and the member of the league and Council will meet and decide on the proceedings and the players of the tournament. It is said that the auction will be held in Bangalore and with eight teams participating in the matches.

The auctioneer will be Richard Madley who has been a part of IPL since 2008, ever since then he has been an integral component of the league and has managed all auctions to date. Some of the rules of the auction include the likes of franchises being allowed to release their players before the start of the auction, and every team will have the option to keep their players from the previous year.

The auction will be live on various websites and channels, so if you are looking forward to staying updated with the happenings of the auction then log on and stay tuned for some thrilling moments.

If you are wondering about the name of the players that have been released which are likely to play in IPL 2017, then you don’t need to look further. Below your will find the names of the players that have been released. These are some of the best players in the world, and once the matches have opened, the ride till the end of the tournament will be incredible with these players.

  • Ishant Sharma, Kevin Pietersen, Irfan PathanSaurabh Tiwary, Rudra Pratap Singh, and Albie Morkel from the Rising Pune Super Giants
  • John Hastings, Morne Morkel, Jason Holder, and Colin Munro from the Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Ashish Reddy, Aditya Tare, Tirumalasetti Suman, Trent Boult and Eoin Morgan from the Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Imran Tahir and Pawan Negi from Delhi Daredevils
  • Corey Anderson from Mumbai Indians

The rest of the names are yet to be released and are being waited upon in anticipation.

It is always exciting to watch the tournament on the television; it is, even more, fun to look at the owners of the teams cheering up on them. The entire tournament gives fans over the world something to look forward to and the best part about these matches s that you can support your favorite team.